General Federation of Women’s Clubs

Money Matters - Scholarships

The Lucy Bramlette Patterson Award for Excellence in Creative Writing is given annually in memory of Mrs. J. Lindsay Patterson, the first president of NCFWC (1902-1905). This award honors a female North Carolina published writer for outstanding creative writing. The award recipient receives an engraved Jefferson Cup in recognition of the honor. Additionally, given in the recipient's honor is a $1,000 scholarship to the Salem College Center for Women Writers which is presented to a rising senior. The recipient of the Lucy Bramlette Patterson Award must:

•  Be a female published writer

•  Be a North Carolina native or currently residing in North Carolina

•  Be nominated by a GFWC-NC club in good standing or by a member of the Lucy Bramlette Patterson committee by May 1 st .

•  Attend the GFWC-NC annual convention, speak to those assembled, and be presented with the award.

The scholarship winner, selected by Salem College, will likewise be invited to the GFWC-NC convention and/or to share some of her writings.

Attention clubs-

Complete information about the Lucy Bramlette Patterson Award including the nomination form and guidelines is available in the Administration Book.




7474 Creedmoor Rd. #310
Raleigh North Carolina 27613


Fax: 919-790-8705